A competition is heating up at Milestone HQ...
We love serving the continuing education needs of our practitioners, but that means spending a lot of time sitting down at a computer. Coinciding with our Facebook post from Monday, we're initiating an office-wide fitness challenge, complete with a worthy prize at the end! It all started with a fitness "bucket list" conversation.
Kellene, an avid runner who's already conquered three half marathons (that's 13.1 miles in case you didn't know!), wants to enter her first full marathon in the fall or winter. Angie wants to work up to walking every evening (she asked me to mention that if the Indiana weather does not cooperate with her, she'll find a treadmill somewhere). For myself, I want to advance in my passion for rock climbing by becoming lead rope certified. What's that? You can learn more about lead roping here. (Yes, I just linked you to a Wikipedia article...). Other office fitness bucket list goals include: running a full mile without stopping, trying a new class at the gym every week (i.e.- yoga, boot camp, step, etc.), and speaking of classes, being able to get through an entire spin class - seriously, if you've never tried one, you should at least once. They're intense!
While having a big outlying goal like a marathon is great motivation, it's not a requirement to participate in this with us. However big or small your motivating factors may seem, the most important thing is to develop the healthy habit of consistently exercising every week! Here's how we plan to accomplish that as a team. And by the way, if you want to participate along with us, be sure to use the hashtag #MCEfitnessChallenge so we can see how you're doing!
At least four days a week, all participants must exercise for at least 20 minutes. The chosen activity must be one that elevates your heart rate, but the choice is completely up to you. If you miss a day of exercise during the week, you owe the collection jar $3, so the maximum amount you can owe the jar for a full week of missed opportunities is $12. And just like with many of your CEU courses, there is no carryover into the following week (so you can't work out every day one week, then only 1 day the following week. That does not count!). At the end of 12 weeks, the amount that's in the jar gets raffled off to someone in the office, and they will donate the amount to a charity of their choice. Sounds pretty simple, right? You may be thinking that twenty minutes isn't that bad... But just wait until you try to keep it up week after week. There's a reason we named it the MCE Fitness "Challenge!"
We'll report in on our progress every week on our Facebook Page, so be sure to follow us there. Good luck!
Montana D.C.s are required to complete the renewal form and submit the fee to the board every two years on penalty of license termination. The deadline for submitting all of the required documents and payment is September 1st, annually. You can receive a new license by following the instructions listed here, as long as you are within 3 years of the date of termination. If you have been inactive in your practice for over three years, then you must reapply using these instructions.
In addition to submitting the payment and renewal form, chiropractors licensed in Montana must also include proof of completion of thirteen (13) hours of continuing education. Per board requirements, only two (2) hours may come from course content that focuses on practice management or philosophy. One (1) hour of the total must be from course content focused on ethics or professional boundaries. Outside of the previously mentioned requirements, the remaining hours of the total must come from courses focused on the practice of chiropractics. The board notes that no credits can transfer over to the following renewal period. Random audits (on 10% of licensees) are conducted each renewal period and three (3) month extensions are allowed for practitioners who fail to meet requirements because of an audit.
According to the board, D.C.s can obtain their credits from seminars, conferences, board meetings, and online sources like Milestone Continuing Education as long as the provider is approved through a state, regional, or national organization/association, or a state college or university (check the necessary continuing ed. credentials here). Milestone is a PACE recognized provider of online continuing ed. for chiropractors and currently offers over 400 hours of course content focused on the practice of chiropractic medicine. Explore titles like "Musculoskeletal MRI," "Movement System Impairment Syndromes," and "Whiplash" in the Course Catalog and get started today!
If you have questions about our chiropractic continuing education program, please visit our FAQ Section, e-mail (info@MilestoneCE.com) or call and talk with a friendly representative at 1-800-709-8820 who will help you get on the road to license renewal the easy, convenient and affordable way. But don't wait, your deadline is only 46 days away!
Mississippi occupational therapists are responsible for completing 20 hours (or 2 continuing education units "CEUs") within the biennial renewal period ending on April 30, 2016. As part of the total 20 hour requirement, the board instructs that at least 6 hours (or ".6" CEUs) must come from courses directly related to the practice of occupational therapy. Additionally, these 6 hours must come from live occupational therapy seminars, or "face to face" classroom learning experiences. OTs are allowed to take up to 7 hours of the total requirement online. For more details about the OT continuing education rules and regulations, visit the Mississippi Occupational Therapy Board (specifics about CE are on Page 10 of the linked document).
Turn to Milestone CE, an AOTA Approved Provider (#7487), for your online courses. Start with the Course Catalog and browse through hundreds of hours of online CE courses with detailed course overviews, professional objectives and more just a click away! Select the courses that apply to your area of practice and download them to your computer or tablet device so you can study when it fits your schedule. Completing your CE courses with Milestone is as simple as this: read the material; take the exam; print your certificate! Get started today!
While researching potential themes that would be fitting for a state awesome enough to have two official nicknames (the 'Magnolia State' and the 'Hospitality State') I stumbled upon this decadent recipe that I just couldn't resist sharing with you! I mean, it has Mississippi in the title, that's a close enough connection, right? You be the judge!
MISSISSIPPI MUD BROWNIES
For the Chocolate Frosting:
It's time again to share the upcoming deadlines for late summer. As in our previous CE Deadline Overview, this is something we will be doing semi-monthly to keep everyone informed of their upcoming deadlines.
Of course, as board rules are apt to change, be sure to always check the board rules in your state of licensure for more information on your deadline and continuing education requirements. Additionally, this review, as with all future posts on this subject, will only cover the requirements for states where Milestone CEUs are approved. Now that the disclaimers are out of the way, let's get started!
Chiropractors - On August 1st chiropractors licensed in Nebraska will need to submit their 36 hours of continuing education (keeping in mind that only 6 hours may come from online sources). September 1st is a popular date for continuing ed. deadlines for D.C.s licensed in Montana and North Dakota. Montana chiropractors need to turn in their certificates of completion for their 13 hour requirement and North Dakota chiropractors must complete 20 hours of CEU courses by that date. Then on September 30th, South Carolina chiropractors are up for renewal and must have completed 36 hours, however only 18 of those may come from an online source.
Occupational Therapists & Assistants - Delaware OT practitioners have to submit their renewal materials, including proof of completion of 20 hours of CE courses - careful, there's a 10 hour limit for online courses! - by July 31st. Wyoming occupational therapist and assistants have to complete their 16 hour requirement by July 31st as well. OT practitioners in Nebraska have a deadline the following day (August 1st) to complete their renewal requirements, including a 20 hour CE requirement for OTs and a 15 hour CE requirement for OTAs.
Don't forget that when you purchase 20 hours from Milestone (that's two 10 hour CEU courses, or one 20 hour bundle pack), you receive a FREE 4 hour ethics course! This isn't a sale, this is a perpetual offer when you choose Milestone. Contact a CE Specialist toll-free at 1-800-709-8220 for details.
Physical Therapists & Assistants - Time is up on September 1st for Arizona physical therapists to submit proof of the completed 20 hour requirement. Arizona PTAs do not have a CE requirement. Illinois physical therapists have until September 30th to submit their renewal documentation, including proof of completion of their 40 hour continuing ed. requirement. PTs in Illinois are only allowed to complete half of that amount (20 hours) via online resources. PTAs in Illinois are up for renewal next year.At Milestone CE, our mission is to provide the best online CE experience for our practitioners. Part of achieving this is maintaining our standing with national professional regulatory organizations like the Better Business Bureau, the PACE program within the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards, the American Occupational Therapy Association (Approved Provider 7487), the Board of Certification, Inc. (Approved Provider #P8382), the National Strength and Conditioning Association (Approved Provider L1272), the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork (Approved Provider 491), as well as individual state boards for physical therapy (click here to find out your state’s approval status).
If you have any questions about our courses or company that are not answered here or in our FAQ Section, please do not hesitate to contact us! You can call toll-free at 1-800-709-8820 or e-mail us at info@MilestoneCE.com. We look forward to hearing from you!
Before the lights go out on these special savings, go to the Course Catalog tailored to your profession, select the continuing education courses you need to complete your CE requirements, and enter Promo Code: INDEPENDENCE in the box provided at checkout to save 20% on your total purchase. No minimum amount required. Sales ends at Midnight.
The "Fourth of July" is just a date; what we're really celebrating is our independence! There are lots of ways to celebrate, a couple of favorites being barbecues and fireworks, but the way we celebrate Independence Day at Milestone is by offering freedom from full-priced continuing education for all of our practitioners (PTs, OTs, ATs, CSCSs, CPTs, Chiropractors and Massage Therapists)!
Beginning today and ending July 4th at midnight, we're accepting a universal promo code for the entire course catalog, all course formats, and even our already discounted Bundle Packs. Use the promo code: INDEPENDENCE in the box provided at checkout and save instantly! Of course, if you have questions feel free to contact one of our CE Specialists at info@MilestoneCE.com or toll-free at 1-800-709-8820. Get started today at www.MilestoneCE.com.
There's big news for physical therapists from the Green Mountain State! Keeping in theme with Tuesday's post announcing new CE requirements for Colorado PTs, the following is a review of the newly developed physical therapy continuing education requirements for Vermont PTs and PTAs. If you still have questions, feel free to contact one of our CE Specialists at 1-800-709-8820 or contact the state board.
We encourage all of our Vermont PT practitioners to stay up to date with the latest changes to the board rules by visiting the Vermont Physical Therapy Board. Let's get started!
According to the latest information, physical therapists will be required to complete 12 hours and physical therapy assistants will be required to complete 8 hours of continuing competence units (CCUs) for the October 1, 2012 through September 30, 2014 renewal period. Beginning on September 30, 2014 and moving forward, the requirement will double where PTs will need to complete 24 hours and PTAs will need to complete 16 hours of CCUs. (Check our references here).
Milestone Continuing Education meets the board requirements under (C)(3) to offer online continuing ed. to physical therapists and assistants licensed in Vermont. Practitioners can peruse over 1,000 hours of online continuing competence units in our course catalog, with more courses added all throughout the year! Get started today by logging on to www.MilestoneCE.com or simply click the Home button in the top left corner of your screen. Happy studying!
Colorado has recently announced that physical therapists will be required to complete continuing education courses, or "professional development activities," in order to qualify for license renewal in 2016. Physical therapy assistants do not have any updated requirements at this time. Helpful links are listed at the end of this post!
Please keep in mind that these new regulations are still in development, and you should periodically check the Department of Regulatory Agencies Division of Professions and Occupations for updates to the rules. As of the date of this post, physical therapists licensed in Colorado will be expected to obtain 30 Professional Development Activity "points" between November 1, 2014 and October 31, 2016.
Similar to continuing education credit hours, PDA points can be gained from university courses, specialist certifications, residency or fellowship completion (APTA program accreditation is required), as well as physical therapy online courses and other board designated activities. These PDAs are considered Category 1, out of which at least 20 of the 30 points must come from during the biennial renewal period. For any activity completed, the practitioner must keep the documentation showing completion for four years in their records.
Milestone Continuing Education meets the board requirements for Category 1 in the state of Colorado for physical therapy continued professional development courses. Browse through our current PT Course Catalog and view over 900 hours of continuing development courses that are sure to meet your professional interests. Visit our website, download your courses and get started today, or contact one of our friendly CE Specialists who will help you get started! 1-800-709-8820 or info@MilestoneCE.com.
Helpful Links to the Colorado PT Board:
Occupational therapists and assistants licensed in Nebraska have an upcoming CE deadline of August 1st. Luckily, OT practitioners in the Cornhusker State are allowed to complete their entire continuing education requirement online, according to the Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services website (the link takes you directly to the continuing education for OTs/OTAs section).
There's no need to be anxious about getting it all done in time. You can order and complete the 20 hour requirement (of 15 hour requirement if you're an OT assistant) with one easy purchase. Go to Milestone Continuing Education and create your customer account. Then browse through over 800 hours of course material, and after you've selected the titles that best apply to your professional interests, download them to your computer or tablet device and study on the go - no WiFi needed! When you've completed the accompanying study guide, log in to your MCE account online and take the corresponding exam, review your score immediately, and print your Certificate of Completion.
Milestone is an AOTA Approved Provider (#7487) and our courses meet the Nebraska OT board requirements for content specifically related to the practice of occupational therapy. See for yourself! Visit the Course Catalog or contact a CE Specialist for more information at 1-800-709-8820 or info@MilestoneCE.com.